My husband spent some time this past weekend cleaning the garage.  Amid the boxes of junk, that have been sitting there since I moved in almost two years ago, he found a couple of journals.  DH really enjoyed these glimpses into my past, so I thought I’d try again.  What is a blog if not an online journal for the author’s thoughts.  I don’t know that I’m ready for anyone I actually know to read this, but some how it doesn’t seem as unnerving if a total stranger reads it.   I have  a feeling most of my blog posts will be related to my experiences as a new mom.

Our Bug was born 8 weeks ago.  I have to say, it has been a pretty awesome 8 weeks.  Bug’s entry into the world did not really go as we thought it would.  At 32 weeks, my midwife thought he felt a little big and sent us for an ultrasound.  He was estimated to be over 5 lbs, and I started to get very worried about growing a giant in my uterus.  At 34 weeks, the doctor agreed with the midwife and sent me for another ultrasound.  He was estimated to be over 7 lbs.  I had already passed two glucose tolerance tests earlier in my pregnancy, but was sent for another, which of course I failed.  At 35 weeks I was diagnosed with gestational diabetes, by 36 weeks I was being medicated for it.  At 37 weeks I had a C section due to uncontrolled diabetes and mild pre-eclampsia.  Bug was born 3 weeks before his due date and weighed 9 lbs 5 oz.  I’m afraid of what he might have weighed had we made it to his due date, and pretty grateful that I wasn’t required to try to push a 12 lb baby out of me.

Some how or other, DH and I landed our selves a pretty awesome baby.  From what I can tell, I’m the only new mom ever to be getting plenty of sleep.  Bug slept through the night for the first time at two and a half weeks old.  He’s an old pro at it by now.  He’s a pretty contented baby over all, and sometimes I just have to brag.

One response »

  1. Husband says:

    First to comment, woo-hoo! I am not a total stranger though ;-). I love this idea and hope you keep up with it!

Leave a Reply

